And The Winners Are : Official BESA 2013 Press Release

Last Thursday, January 17, the 2013 Bright European Skateboard Awards celebrated the best of skateboarding in Europe, and crowned another edition of Bright trade show. The historical interior of the Babylon Cinema proved to be an ideal environment for this one of a kind industry reunion. The enthusiastic feedback and loudness of the 550 guests showed the success of the 2nd edition and set the mood for an amazing night in Berlin Mitte.
The ceremony, hosted by Sally Braid and Marc Churchill, saw a list of industry personalities share their experiences with the audience, who responded with thunderous cheers as the award winners were being called on stage and escalating until the Kingpin ESOTY was finally announced.
Comical highlight of the evening, comedian MF David Deery stole the stage as he awarded himself a spontaneous “Kickflip of the Year Award”.
To crown the evening, the Opel Adam Shuttles drove the thrilled winners and the ecstatic crowd to continue the party until dawn at the House of Vans.
Merit goes to all the presenters who overcame their stage fear: Alex Irvine, Titus Dittmann, Torben Oberhellmann, MF David Deery, Alexis Jauzion, Bertrand Trichet, Oli Buergin, Martin Magielka, Richard “French” Sayer, Julian Dykmans, Danny Wainwright, and Paul Shier.
Thanks to our sponsors and partners VANS, Opel, Skate-Aid, Kingpin Magazine,, Budweiser, Barefoot Wine and Berliner Brandstifter 

The 2014 Bright European Skateboard Awards will be back next January, during Bright XVIII.

Winners of the 2013 Bright European Skate Awards

Kingpin Reader’s Choice Awards: Madars Apse
Skate-Aid Charity Award: Pura Vida Skateboarding
Web Edition of the Year: The DC Embassy //
Shop of the Year: Slam City Skates, London, UK
Cover of the Year: Soma (France) – Issue 27 – Feb/March 2012 – Remy Taveira & Oscar Candon by David Turakiewicz.
Photographer of the Year: Marcel Veldman
Videographer of the Year: Pontus Alv – The Polar Skate Co. Promo
Brand of the Year:  Polar Skate Co.
Video Edit of the Year: Jesus Fernandez - Pretty Sweet - Girl & Chocolate Skateboards
Rookie of the Year: Tom Knox
Kingpin European Skateboarder of the Year: Madars Apse